Another Post on Dreams: Dreaming as a Power Play

I often wake in the morning feeling in possession of a great discovery, a solution to a universal mystery, such as What is God? The answer is always fluttering inches away, and, try as I will, it escapes me.  During the day I get hints of it and spend a few more minutes searching my memory, which, researchers tell us, is tricky at best. (Our memory rewrites our history even as we record it.) No matter what I recall, it isn’t the answer I felt I had. It’s a fragment. Recently I woke believing that the very fragmentation and elusiveness is the answer.  There’s a reason for the rim sleep, where we labor and search to no avail: We can’t locate the classroom until the course is over; we drive to a destination but arrive miles away and have no car; we belong on the upper floor and we have to crawl under the foundation; we discover a beautiful room in a house we’re vacating, so we stay, and the room suddenly loses its luster.  All the dream training, years of sorting through crazy time and maze worlds and glaze tone is a thwarting. Dreams are the mechanism by which we could find, and may eventually find, answers to all the great mysteries.  The thwarting is interference–we’re coded not to know yet.  To a Bible reader, which I have been and am, this is like finding the Tower of Babel in the dream world.

About rmkinder

Writer
This entry was posted in dream practice, dreams, sleep, sleep cycles, sleep theories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

